SMA Foundation

The SMA Foundation was formed in 1987 using donations from SMA members interested in assisting students pursuing meat industry careers. Through the generosity and support of many contributors over the years the Foundation’s growth has enabled it to award over $67,000 in scholarships last year. There are several types of scholarships funded by the Foundation: Bob Ondrusek Memorial Scholarships, SMIKIDS Ltd. Scholarships, SMA Foundation Scholarship, SMA Supplier Scholarships, and SMA Convention Scholarships.

The Bob Ondrusek Memorial Scholarship is named in honor of the longtime SMA member, leader and passionate advocate of young people and education. Interested students apply directly to the SMA Foundation for these scholarship funds. The recipients are selected based upon their qualifications by the Foundation’s board of Trustees.

The SMIKIDS Ltd. Scholarship is donated by the family of longtime SMA member Burley Smith of Lone Star Beef Processors in San Angelo, TX. These scholarships are awarded to outstanding meat science students at Smith’s alma mater, Texas A&M University.

SMA Foundation Scholarship funds are generated by donations and proceeds from the Foundation’s annual golf tournament.

SMA Supplier Scholarships are generated by SMA supplier members’ participation in the Suppliers’ Showcase during the association’s annual convention. A portion of the proceeds from this event are dedicated to the Supplier Scholarship fund.

SMA Convention Scholarships are funded by fundraising events at the annual convention as well as private donations.

The funds for the Foundation Scholarships, the Supplier Scholarships and the SMA Convention Scholarships are disseminated to universities within the traditional SMA membership area and are awarded through those universities’ internal procedures in accordance with the Foundation’s criteria.

The SMA Foundation is a 501(c)(3) organization, and donations to it are tax deductible. If you are interested in making a contribution, please contact us at

View and Download Scholarship Application

2018 Scholarship Winners

Bob Ondrusek Memorial Scholarship Recipients:
Macey Randig, TAMU
Erin Beyer, TTU
Keelyn Hanlon, TTU

SMA Hall of Honor Scholarship Recipients:
Hunter Smith, TSU
Cole Perkins, TTU
Rebecca Kirkpatrick, TAMU

SMIKIDS Scholarship Recipients – Funded by the Burley Smith Lone Star Beef family:
Bo Garcia, TAMU
Chandler Steele, TAMU

SMA Foundation Scholarship Recipients:

Emily Bechtold, OSU
Anna Carlock, TTU
Meghan Clancy, TAMU
Bo Garcia, TAMU
Madilyn Grams, TAMU
Marley Grams, TAMU
Jenna Hunt, TAMU
Maggie Madden, TAMU
Kalee McCann, TAMU
Ben Mills, TTU
Emma Mortensen, TTU
Codelia Reagan, TTU
Holly Sanders, TAMU
Jason Shamburger, TAMU

Masters students:
Kirby Bohls, TAMU
Kyle Caldwell, TAMU
Dax Dittrich, TAMU
Ciarra Gawlik, TAMU
Micki Gooch, TAMU
Brogan Horton, TAMU
Emily Mahalitc, TTU
Chandler Steele, TAMU

Doctoral students:
Chad Bower, UNL
Drew Cassens, OSU
Hannah Laird, TAMU
Hillary Martinez, TAMU
Hope Voegele, TTU